Brecknock Area

Home Who's Who History Sections Groups News Events Resources Gallery Contact Us

Brecknock (Sir Frycheiniog)

In the early days of Scouting Brecknock enjoyed a high profile, as Lord Glanusk lived in the County and became the first County Commissioner and also the first Commissioner for Wales in 1912.  His home served as the focal point for Scouting for many years and still plays a part from time to time in Area or Welsh activity.

The first Scout Troop in the County was set up in Ystradgynlais in 1908; the original headquarters of the 1st Swansea Valley Group still forms part of the present complex on Penrhiwfarteg. Seven more Groups were founded in the years leading to the appointment of Lord Glanusk; Brecknock was one of the strongest Scout Counties in Wales. Brecon and Crickhowell/Llangattock have recently celebrated their centenaries.

Sketchy records reveal that Scouts lit beacons on Pen y Fan to mark the coronation of  both  George VI in 1937 and Elizabeth II in 1953.  In 1969 the County proudly reported that it contained 120 Senior Scouts – 38% of that age group in the whole of Wales.  Welsh Jamborees were celebrated at Gwernyfed in 1961 and Glanusk in 1993.  There are enthusiastic reports of Royal visits in 1955, 1981 and 2012 and of gatherings to meet various Chief Scouts.

The Grand Old Man of Scouting in Brecknock was Major General Geoffrey Raikes who was County Commissioner from 1944 to 1963 and County President from 1963 to 1972.  His home at Treberfedd attracted large numbers for the annual County camps and rallies.  ‘The General’ handed over to Rev Edgar Powell of Gilwern.  It was at about this time that boundary changes robbed Brecknock of no less than three flourishing Groups – Brynmawr, Gilwern and Cefn Coed.  Capt. Bill Legge-Bourke was appointed commissioner in 1979 and became President in 1988. Major Bill Garnett followed in office as commissioner and in turn he handed over to Bryan James of Glasbury.  The current Area Commissioner, Richard Jackson, served as SL in Talybont and GSL in Brecon before taking up the baton in 2004.  The wheel has turned full circle insofar as the current President, The Honourable Sian Legge-Bourke, is a direct descendant of Lord Glanusk.

Some Groups come and go as population varies, some rise like Lazarus from the dead and some show dogged determination to survive!  


Young Bill Leonard. "Bill was a Scout, mainly in Brecon, for 80 years. He was presented with the Silver Wolf in 2005 five years before his death."

1st Brecon Scout Troop 1957

1st Welsh Jamboree, Abergele 1949

Brecon Troop 1925

Brecon Group in 1963

County Gate at Welsh Jamboree 1952

Brecon OWLS 1949

Brecknock Area Scout Council © 2018. All Rights Reserved.                      Cookies & Privacy Policy | Terms of Use                                             View Web Design

Stay safe online